tulûat etiketine sahip kayıtlar gösteriliyor. Tüm kayıtları göster
tulûat etiketine sahip kayıtlar gösteriliyor. Tüm kayıtları göster

20070522

Sumburgh Light

No accommodation in the whole of the Shetland Islands can boast a location quite as spectacular as Sumburgh Lighthouse. Perched on a precipitous headland at the most southerly tip of the islands, the lighthouse dominates the landscape and seascape for miles around.

The building dates from 1821, the first lighthouse to be built in Shetland, and was constructed by Robert Stevenson, grandfather of the famous author Robert Louis Stevenson. It sits on the site of an ancient promontory fort and is within a few miles of the major archaeological sites at Old Scatness and Jarlshof.

The lighthouse is situated above the imposing cliffs of Sumburgh Head, an RSPB reserve which is home to over 10,000 seabirds in the summer months, including Puffins, Guillemots, Razorbills, Kittiwakes and Shags. It is also ideally suited for receiving migrant birds during the spring and autumn migration periods and is building up quite a reputation as a whale-watching site.

The building represents ideal family accommodation with one double, one twin, one bunk bedded and one single bedroom, a lounge, a bathroom, a toilet and a fully equipped kitchen including a washing machine. The property is centrally heated and car parking is available.

It is approximately 2km from the main airport and roughly the same distance to the nearest bar/restaurant at the Sumburgh Hotel. The nearest shop is 4km away at the village of Toab and there is an indoor swimming pool at Sandwick some 19km away. The main town of Lerwick is about 40km away, around 30mins drive.

Shetland's first lighthouse, on Sumburgh Head, is a listed building. Built by Robert Stevenson, who accompanied Sir Walter Scott to Shetland in 1814 - a cruise that produced his novel The Pirate, set around Jarlshof and Fitful Head.

Thursday 31 July 1823:
Preached in the Meeting House at one from Isaiah 12.3. Went to Sumbra heat [rectius Head] light house. Published for preaching as I went. The ground here is sandy, has some very good bear, the oats no a miss; this is the best corn I have seen in Shetland, and there is more of it. The popelation of these two Parishes is 3700. The towns are thick, but in general not better constructed than else where. Here are a few rabbits in the sand, but S. wind has blown many acers on the ground, which has destroyed many towns. In one bank I saw the other day some primroses but small and weakly, now in full bloom.

Saturday 2 August 1823:
This morning was wet. By ten it became very fine. The prospect is delightful: had a fine view of Fair Island, and up as far as Noss, and W. to Folla. Many boats in the Roost of Sumbro, fishing. The light room is truly butifully in a fine day, as every thing is kept so exceedingly clean and bright that the eye get dazed by the refflection. This is a lovely situation of a fine summers day, but in winter it is dreadful. Such is the violence of the storm, that the wind blows the stones from the clift beneath in showers, that it has dashed these windows to shives, blew in their shitters, the iron bars by which they were fastned bent a willow hope. Altho they are from 4 to 5 hundred feet above the level of the sea, they are compleately drenshed with salt water, and are fequently in distres for fresh water to drink. Having non on the head, it was dangerous to go and fetch any from below - - -
The most rain that fell here was on the 8 of May which was 72 parts in their gauge.
The warmest day this summer was in June when the thermometer was 57; the coldest, February 4, thermometer 26.
The highest state of the berometer was in May, when it was 30-26, lowest March, 28-2. Le[f]t the lighthouse where I slept two nights. Went to Mr Gearsons, where I dined, took tea, spoak to many of the cottagers about their soul. All seemed thankfull for advice. The people appear ripe for the Gosple. The bear in this part is very promising, but they say it is much later than last year. Quendle, the estate of Mr G. exceeds any thing I have seen in Shetland. I learn that it is the best in all the country. In walking along the beech I picked up some of the largest cockl shells I ever saw.

Dungeness lighthouse

Dungeness lighthouse
Old and new lighthouses in Kent
Photos and report by Mike Slocombe, July 2006

With its treacherous shifting banks of sand and shingle, Dungeness point has always been feared as a notorious black spot for mariners.

Advances in marine technology during the 16th century substantially increased the size and number of ships passing through the English Channel, with a corresponding increase in losses around Dungeness.

During one particularly bad winter gale it is said that over 1000 sailors lost their lives, along with many valuable cargoes.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Lighthouse view.

top

The first lighthouses
Beacons were originally lit on the land to warn passing sailors, but to combat this growing problem, a proper lighthouse was constructed at Dungeness in 1615.

Its owner, Sir Edward Howard, was empowered by King James I to levy tolls of one penny per ton from all ships passing it - something that didn't go down too well with fleet owners.
external link Full Dungeness Lighthouse history [Trinity Hse]

A steady build up of shingle saw the sea disappearing into the distance, so in 1635 a new lighthouse ('Lamplough's Tower') was built closer to the water's edge. This stood some 110 feet high and lasted over 100 years.

As the sea continued to recede, it was necessary to build a third lighthouse in 1792.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Looking up.

top

Lighthouse number three
Standing 116ft tall, the lighthouse ('Samuel Wyatt's Tower') was built to a similar design as the Eddystone light, and was lit by 17 Argon lamps, magnified by silvered concave reflectors.

With the shingle bank continuing to grow in size and pushing the lighthouse further from the sea, work began on the present 'Old Lighthouse' in 1901.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Walking the 169 steps to the top. Each floor is linked by circular concrete stairs which hug the walls and sport decorative wrought iron banisters.

The Old Lighthouse ('The High Light Tower')
Built by Patrick & Co of London, the fourth lighthouse was ceremonially opened by His Majesty, The Prince of Wales (later George V) in 1904, with its 150ft height making it one of tallest lighthouses in the UK.

Its intermittent light, flashing every 10 seconds, was visible for around 18 miles.

Sporting a steel roof and slate floor, the Top Lantern Room housed the massive circular lens. Weighing two tons, the whole assembly smoothly floated on a bed of mercury.

The lighthouse was operational between 1904 and 1960, before being superceded by the fifth lighthouse, situated about half a mile away.

This new lighthouse had to be built because the buildings of the nearby Dungeness Power Stations were found to be obscuring some of the light.

top

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
A scene inside the Lens Room on the second floor.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Looking through the lens.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Close up detail.

top

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
In the Top lantern Room is this brass plaque indicating True North.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Curious handle on the small, low door that leads to the balcony at the top of the lighthouse.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
The new lighthouse in the distance.

top

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Looking down.


Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Dungeness Power Stations from the balcony.


Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Looking north to the new lighthouse.

top


New lighthouse
Resplendent in its smooth, clean, modern lines and black and white paint job, lighthouse number five was constructed in 1961.

Officially opened by H.R.H. The Duke of Gloucester, the 43m high lighthouse was brought into operation on 20th November, 1961 and was the first one to incorporate the Xenon electric arc lamp.

The new Dungeness Lighthouse is visible for 27 sea miles. Converted to automatic operation in 1991, it is currently monitored and controlled from the Trinity House Depot at Harwich.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Top of the new lighthouse which is powered by 4 Banks Of 4 X 200 watt sealed beam lamps which flash white light for 5 seconds of every 30 seconds.


Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
Overall view of the slim lighthouse.

Dungeness lighthouse, Dungeness, Romney Marsh, on the south coast of Kent, England
The tower rises from a white concrete base in the form of a spiral ramp.

The Cape Banks Lighthouse

The Cape Banks Lighthouse near Carpenter Rocks


Cape Banks panorama
Photograph: Garry Searle

Operation

LOCATION: Latitude 37° 54' S, Longitude 140° 23' E (Map)
OPERATOR: Australian Maritime Safety Authority
CHARACTER: Group Flashing 2 in 10 sec
LIGHT SOURCE: 120v 1000w Tungsten Halogen Lamp
POWER SOURCE: Mains Electricity, Standby Battery
INTENSITY: 20,000 cd
ELEVATION: 27.6 Metres
RANGE: 15 N Miles
HEIGHT: 15 Metres

Cape Banks Lighthouse && cottages (now demolished) 1921
Cape Banks Lighthouse & Cottages (now demolished) 1921
Photograph Courtesy: Port MacDonnell & District Maritime Museum


Cape Banks Lighthouse
The Cape Banks Lighthouse & Cairn
Photograph: AMSA

History

The lighthouse was established in 1883. The original structure was 7.5 metres in height and was made from local limestone. The lantern was used from the old MacDonnell Lighthouse (demolished in 1882) at Cape Northumberland.

The original character was alternating revolving, showing one red and two white faces. The illuminant was vaporized kerosene with an incandescent mantle. 3 groups (3 lamps in each group) 2 white and 1 red.

In May 1928, it was raised to 15 metres. With this upgrade upgrade the light was demanned and the keeper's cottages have since been demolished.

Until 1976 the light was run on a Dalen Acetylene Gas system which mixed the gas with air and also rotated a lens. It was then converted to electric in using the lens from St Francis Island.

Access

The lighthouse reserve is accessible to the public. The road is a sealed bitumen to Carpenter Rocks, then unsealed for the last several kilometres to the lighthouse. There are no tours.


The Surrounding Area


Aerial view of the Cape Banks Lighthouse
Photograph: Winsome Bonham


The Cape Banks Lighthouse From Road
The Cape Banks Lighthouse from the road
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas
Cape Banks Lighthouse
The Cape Banks Lighthouse
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas

The Robe Lighthouse

The Robe Lighthouse

The modern Robe Lighthouse is a star-shaped concrete tower which was built in 1972.

The Robe Lighthouse was built as an automated unmanned light to replace the Cape Jaffa Lighthouse.

The Robe Lighthouse With the Obelisk in the Distance

The Robe Lighthouse with the obelisk in the distance
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas

Operation

LOCATION: Latitude 37° 10' S; Longitude 139° 45' E (Map)
OPERATOR: Australian Maritime Safety Authority
CHARACTER: Group Flash 3 Every 10 Seconds
LIGHT SOURCE: 120v 1000w Tungsten Halogen Lamp
POWER SOURCE: Mains Electricity, Standby Generator
INTENSITY: 120,000 cd
ELEVATION: 63 metres
RANGE: 20 Nautical Miles (36 kilometres)
HEIGHT: 19 metres

History

The Robe Lighthouse is a star-shaped concrete tower which was built in 1972. It is 3.5 metres wide at the bottom, and slants towards 5 metres wide at the top.

It was built to replace the now defunct Cape Jaffa Lighthouse near Kingston.

The light array is three vertical banks of 5 x 200w headlight type lamps in each bank. The light has always been automatic and therefore unmanned.

In the early days of settlement, Robe was the main port for the south-east of South Australia and the border country.

Until the establishment of this light, the only navigational aid into Robe was an obelisk.

Access

The lighthouse on the western edge of the Robe township and is easily accessible by road.

The Surrounding Area

The Robe Lighthouse
The Robe Lighthouse
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas

The Robe Lighthouse With the Obelisk in the Distance
The Robe Lighthouse from the Obelisk
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas


The Robe Lighthouse after a coat of white paint
Photograph: Kristie Eggleston


Aerial view of the Robe Lighthouse
Photograph: Winsome Bonham


The Robe Obelisk
Photograph: Kristie Eggleston

Troubridge Hill Lighthouse

Troubridge Hill Lighthouse

The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse is unique because it is built from special wedge shaped bricks and has never been rendered or painted, creating a very distinctive day mark.



The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse from the air
Photograph: Winsome Bonham


Operation

LOCATION: Latitude 35° 10.1' S, Longitude 137° 38.4' E (Map)
OPERATOR: Australian Maritime Safety Authority
CHARACTER: Group Flashing 2 in 15 sec
LIGHT SOURCE: 120v 1000w Tungsten Halogen Lamp
POWER SOURCE: Mains Electricity, Standby Diesel
INTENSITY: 257,000 cd
ELEVATION: 62 Metres
RANGE: 22 N Miles
HEIGHT: 32 Metres

The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse near Edithburgh [Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas]
The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas

The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse is on the heel of the Yorke Peninsula [Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas]
The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse is on the heel of the Yorke Peninsula
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas


The Troubridge Hill [Photograph: Elizabeth Harford]
The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse
Photograph: Elizabeth Harford

History

The area is known for the treacherous Troubridge Shoal and nearby Marion Reef which by 1911 had claimed nineteen ships.

The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse was built in 1980 to replace the Troubridge Shoal Lighthouse as the major coastal light in the area.

The lighthouse is built from special wedge shaped clay bricks that were fired especially for this lighthouse. The lantern room is fabricated from fibreglass.

One of only a handful of brick lighthouses in Australia, the lighthouse is unique as the bricks have never been rendered or painted, making it a distinctive day mark.

The tower is designed to resist earthquakes and high winds. Both Troubridge Hill and Corny Point suffered from several earthquakes in the early 20th century.

It received a special award from the South Australian Clay Brick Association for an outstanding application of clay brickwork.

The light was built to be automatic and unmanned with the original apparatus being an array of sealed beam lanterns (similar to car headlights) that turned to create the character.

Due to the high maintenance cost, these has been replaced with a more traditional rotating lens and electric lantern.

The establishment of this light saw the demanning and downgrading of the nearby Troubridge Shoal Lighthouse.


The Troubridge Hill is built from special wedge shaped bricks [Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas]
The Troubridge Hill is built from special wedge shaped bricks
Photograph: Ed Kavaliunas


Access

The lighthouse reserve is accessible to the public. The road is of a good grade, gravel for the 8 kilometres to the lighthouse. There are no tours.

The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse From Clan Ranald Memorial [Photograph: Annette Flottwell]
The Troubridge Hill Lighthouse From Clan Ranald Memorial
Photograph: Annette Flotwell

The Cape Borda Lighthouse

The Cape Borda Lighthouse on Kangaroo Island The Cape Borda Lighthouse on Kangaroo Island was isolated and the scene of tragedy in its early years. It is the only square stone lighthouse in South Australia.

The Cape Borda Lighthouse on Kangaroo Island
Photograph: Peter Coombs







Operation

LOCATION: Latitude 35° 45' 3" S, Longitude 136° 35' 7" E (map)
OPERATOR: Australian Maritime Safety Authority
EXHIBITED: 1858
CONSTRUCTION: Stone
CHARACTER: Group Flash 4 Every 20 Seconds
LIGHT SOURCE: 120v 1000w Tungsten Halogen Lamp
POWER SOURCE: Mains Electricity
INTENSITY: 170,000 cd
ELEVATION: 155 Metres
RANGE: 21 Nautical Miles
HEIGHT: 10 metres
AUTOMATED: 1989
DEMANNED: 1989
DEACTIVATED: No
CUSTODIAN: Parks SA


The Cape Borda Lighthouse and Cannon
Photograph: Chris Klep


History

The lighthouse was built in 1858, and is the third oldest remaining in South Australia. It is also the only square stone lighthouse in South Australia.

It was built to guide sailing ships arriving in to South Australia off the Roaring Forty trade-winds and into the Investigator Straits and on to Adelaide.

In the early days supplies had to landed by boat and hauled up long steel railway at nearby Harvey's Return.

The small cannon was put in place to be fired during fog to signal ships of danger before the introduction of radio. It was also believed that due to the Russian scare the placement of the cannon was symbolic of a small military presence, and therefore seen as a deterrence to invasion from possible enemy ships! Indeed one of the reasons for building the lightstation in that position was to be a lookout for Russian ships.

In late 1999, NPWSA restored the cannon and test-fired it at Midnight 2000 as part of a global exercise of time-signals at maritime locations around the world. The cannon was found to be Y2K compliant and has since fired every day at the traditional hour of 1pm

It is only one three lighthouses in Australia to retain a Deville lantern room.

The light was converted to automatic operation in 1989.


The Cape Borda Lightstation
Photograph: Winsome Bonham


The Cape Borda Lighthouse at Dusk
Photograph: Brian Lord

The Nobbys Head Lighthouse at Newcastle

The Nobbys Head Lighthouse at Newcastle

The Nobbys Head Lighthouse was established on an island whose future was doubtful right up the period prior to the light's establishment.

Aerial view of the Nobbys Head station
Photograph: Winsome Bonham






LOCATION: Latitude 32° 55.1'S, Longitude 151° 48.0'E (map)
OPERATOR: Australian Maritime Safety Authority
EXHIBITED: 1854
CONSTRUCTION: Stone
CHARACTER: Group Flashing (2 & 1) in 20 seconds
LIGHT SOURCE: 120V, 1,000 Watt, Quartz Halogen Lamp
POWER SOURCE: Mains Power, Stand-by Diesel
INTENSITY: 580,000 cd
ELEVATION: 25 metres
RANGE: 24 nautical miles
HEIGHT: 35 metres
AUTOMATED: 1935
DEMANNED: 1935
DEACTIVATED: No
CUSTODIAN: Newcastle Port Corporation

The Nobbys Head Lighthouse and Signal Station
Photograph: Richard Webber


History

The present lighthouse was established on Nobbys Head in 1854, which was then a small isolated coastal islet just off Signal Head.

It was only the third lighthouse built in NSW after the Macquarie Light in 1818 and the Hornby Light that was also built in 1858.

The first beacon had been lit on Signal Hill in 1804 to guide vessels into the Hunter River. It was an open coal fire that was only seen for several kilometres.

An oil burning light in a large metal device was established in 1821 and was visible for 12 kilometres. The oil light was not reliable so the beacon reverted to the coal fire once again.

The small tower has since been dwarfed by the taller buildings that house the Signal Station and Port Watch, amongst other things.

Originally called Coal Island, the Nobbys Head said to have originally been 60 metres high, was joined to the main land by a causeway that was begun in 1818 and later completed in 1846.

In 1854 it was intended to blow the island away to improve the harbour but strong public protests forced cessation of the work of destruction.

However the island was further reduced to 25 metres to accommodate the building of the lighthouse and signal station in 1858.

The original 20,000 candle-power light was attended by three keepers. The light was converted to electric operation in 1935 and demanned.


The Nobbys Head Lighthouse
Photograph: Grant Maizels

Nobbys Head juts into the sea at the entrance of Newcastle Harbour
Photograph: Grant Maizels

The Nobbys Head Lighthouse and Signal Station
Photograph: Annette Flotwell

Bookmark and Share
 
Minima 4 coloum Blogger Template by Beloon-Online.
Simplicity Edited by Ipiet's Template