1879 etiketine sahip kayıtlar gösteriliyor. Tüm kayıtları göster
1879 etiketine sahip kayıtlar gösteriliyor. Tüm kayıtları göster

20100223

Cape Neddick Light Station



Cape Neddick Light Station

  

Lighthouse Data (aka Nubble Light)

Established:July 1, 1879
Light List:Aid No. 125/J0226
Position:N 43° 09' 54"W 70° 35' 28"
Nautical Chart
Cape Neddick, near the entrance to York River; York, Maine
Characteristic:Iso R 6s (2) [6 seconds Red
alternating with 6 sec darkness
]
Original Optics:Fourth-order Fresnel Lens -1879 (3)
Present optic:Fourth-order Fresnel Lens -1928
Elevation:88-feet high Focal Plane
Range:13 nautical miles visible reach at sea
Structure:
(Daymark)
41-feet high White Conical Cast iron lined with brick Tower with Black Lantern
Fog signal:One Second blast every 10 seconds
First Keeper:Nathaniel Otterson
Automated:July 13, 1987
Current Use:Active aid to navigation,
U.S. Coast Guard Access to Optic;
Owned by the Town of York since June 20, 1998





Cape Neddick Map

20090324

Tiumpan Head

Tiumpan Head (Scottish Gaelic:Rudha Tiompan) lighthouse in the village of Portvoller in Point, Isle of Lewis, was long promoted as an idea but refused for a long period by the Board of Trade. It was approved in May 1879 after a recommendation by the Western Highlands and Islands Commission to additionally keep a watch on illegal trawlers.

The estimated cost of the lighthouse and building was £9000. It was designed by David and Charles Stevenson, and John Aitken was the contractor. William Frew was appointed as inspector of works. Chance Brothers made the optics and the revolving machine was made by Dove and Co. The light was first exhibited on 1 December 1900. There was a complement of six lightkeepers attached to the station, three lightkeepers and their families at the station and a local assistant and two occasional lightkeepers coming in from Portnaguran village nearby.

Queen Elizabeth II along with Prince Charles and Princess Anne visited the lighthouse in 1956 when the seven year old heir to the throne sounded the first blast on a new fog siren. The fog signal was operated by compressed air supplied from a compressor, which was driven by a Kelvin Diesel Engine. There were three Kelvin engines and compressors, and when the fog signal was in operation, two of them were in service to maintain the required air pressure with one standby, in rotation.

The lighthouse was automated in 1985.

from en.wikipedia.org

Bookmark and Share
 
Minima 4 coloum Blogger Template by Beloon-Online.
Simplicity Edited by Ipiet's Template