The old lighthouse of Amsterdam called: ‘IJdoorn’, or ‘Hoek van het IJ’. From 1700 to the end of the 19 th century it was a stone structure, but this one is made of iron in the fashion of the industrial revolution. It stands on a small island, overlooking a polder near Durgerdam. The polder is a nature reserve where a lot of birds can be seen.
Lighthouse, island Marken. Must be seen large.
Paard van Marken, groot bekijken.
The Durgerdam lighthouse was built around 1880. The original lighthouse from 1700 was a brick structure. The official name is IJdoorn Lighthouse, or Hoek van het IJ.
In the background one of the icebreakers, which must keep the shippingroute open, is visible.